Quiz5

1. As the captains for the HT walk out for the CT, the U notices one of the captains is carrying a replica
professional wrestling belt over his shoulder. This replica belt has no distinctive writing on it. Should the
U allow this captain to participate in the CT carrying this belt? Ruling: Allowed to participate as this
replica belt is not part of the uniform & has no manufacturer’s logos on it. (1-5-3)

2. A, from their 40 YL, completes a long pass to A27, who runs to the B 2 YL and fumbles the ball into B’s
EZ. B44 picks up the loose football in B’s EZ and proceeds to advance out of his EZ. The BJ sounds his
whistle as B44 is still one yard deep in his EZ. Whose ball is it and where should it be spotted? Ruling: As
the inadvertent whistle ended the down with B44 having possession in his EZ and A was responsible for
putting the ball into B’s EZ, B would have the option of a TB or having A replay the down from their 40
YL. (4-2-3)

3. A 4/6 @ A 35 YL. A decides to punt. During the kick, R88 blocks K 13 in the back (BIB) at the RT’s 45
YL. On the tackle of the punt returner at RT’s 40 YL, K54 commits a targeting foul. The covering official
determines the targeting foul is flagrant. Whose ball is it and where should it be spotted? Ruling: To keep
the ball the RT will probably decline the targeting foul. RT will then be penalized for the BIB from the
basic spot which is the spot where the kick ends -- post-scrimmage kick (PSK)(2-16-2h)(10-4 1-3).

4. K, 4/8 @ K 40 YL. K23 kicks from a scrimmage kick formation. R9 is in position to receive the kick at
the R 10 YL, but backs away after giving a legal fair catch signal. The ball strikes the ground at the R 4 YL
and bounces high into the air. K19, who ran to the RT GL, turns and with both feet in the R EZ, extends his
arms toward his GL and downs the ball at the R 1 YL. Where will R put the ball in play? Ruling: It will be
first down and 10 yards to go for the RT from the R 1 YL. Since the kick did not break the vertical plane
of the GL, itis nota TB. (8-5-3 a-1)

5. A, 2/8 @ B 20 YL. At the snap QB A7 turns, runs a few steps and then executes a backward pass to
trailing back A24 who proceeds up field. B51 grasps the middle of the back of A24's jersey with his hands
and pulls A24 backward and to the ground at the B 19 YL. Was a foul committed? Down and distance?
Ruling: No. A horse-collar foul is defined as grabbing the inside back or side collar of the shoulder pads or
jersey of a runner and subsequently pulling the opponent backward or sideward to the ground. A, 3/7 @ B
19 YL. ( 9-4-3-k)

6. A, 2/G @ B 8 YL. 6 seconds remain in 4Q. B leads by 7 points. A4 runs for a TD as time expires. B57
commits a personal foul during the TD run. Ruling: TD counts and the penalty must be enforced on the
Try. (3-3-3-d) (GB pg. 32)

7. A, 1/10 @ A34 YL. At the snap, QB A12 throws a forward pass intended for eligible A82 who is at the
A 39 YL. The FB crosses the NZ. A82 leaps to make the catch but muffs the FB into the air and backward.
Lineman A64 who was ineligible at the snap catches the ball at the A 34 YL and runs to the A 45 YL,
where he is tackled. Ruling: A64 has committed the foul of Illegal Touching. If Team B accepts the
penalty it will be 2nd down and 15 for A from the A 29 YL. (7-5-13)



